Google’s safety tools

We build tools and controls into our products that help you manage your online experience. Learn about SafeSearch, YouTube Safety Mode, and content filtering on Android below.

Google SafeSearch

SafeSearch is designed to screen sites that contain sexually explicit content and remove them from your search results. While no filter is 100% accurate, SafeSearch helps you avoid content you may prefer not to see or would rather your children did not stumble across.

By default, Moderate SafeSearch is turned on, which helps keep explicit images out of your search results. If you prefer, you can change your setting to Strict filtering to help filter out explicit text as well as images.

Learn how to modify your computer’s SafeSearch settings

SafeSearch Lock

If you’re worried about others changing the Strict SafeSearch setting without your knowledge, you can protect it with a password using SafeSearch Lock. Once locked, the Google search results page will be visibly different to indicate that SafeSearch is locked.

Even from across the room, the colored balls give parents and teachers a clear visual cue that SafeSearch is still locked. And if you don’t see them, it’s quick and easy to verify and re-lock SafeSearch.

Learn how to activate SafeSearch lock

SafeSearch on your phone

SafeSearch is accessible on your mobile device by using the browser to access the Google homepage.

Learn how to modify your mobile device’s SafeSearch settings

YouTube Safety Mode

We have Community Guidelines for YouTube that describe the type of content that is and isn’t allowed on the site. However, there may be cases when you’d prefer to screen out content even though it meets our guidelines.

Opting in to Safety Mode means that videos with mature content or that have been age-restricted will not show up in video search, related videos, playlists, shows or films. While no filter is 100% accurate, we use community flagging and porn-image detection to help identify and hide inappropriate content. It is also designed to hide objectionable comments. Safety Mode on YouTube does not remove content from the site, but rather helps hide it from users who opt in.

Learn how to turn on and lock Safety Mode on YouTube

Content filtering on Android

Google Play requires developers to label their applications according to the Google Play ratings system, which consists of four levels: Everyone, low maturity, medium maturity, or high maturity. Using a PIN code, users can lock a setting to filter apps on their devices so that only apps deemed appropriate for use can be displayed and downloaded.

Developers are responsible for rating the apps they upload to Google Play accurately. If users come across incorrectly rated apps, they can flag such apps for review. We will evaluate each case according our guidelines.

Learn how to modify your content filter settings on Android